+27 (0)21 689 4164
17/10/2019 at 6:46pm
Neil Lategan (Deputy Head of Rosedale) and Duran Koevort (Head of Rosedale) https://t.co/5fdlUuJo9e SACSHIGH photo
16/10/2019 at 7:37am
Hamza Kana has recently joined SACS after he and his family relocated from the Northern Cape. It is wonderful to see him having such a positive and immediate impact on our tennis. https://t.co/8J0X1nT2Mg SACSHIGH photo
12/10/2019 at 7:30am
1st team playing in the Stayers Squash tournament at SACS this weekend. First one vs Pretoria Boys' High and second game vs Kearsney College. https://t.co/MLeqXjlIwE SACSHIGH photo
SACS18/10/2019 at 11:33am




Errol matriculated in 1980, two years before his younger brother Trevor. He received his medical degree from UCT and later won the Rhodes Scholarship. At Oxford, where he was Vice-Captain of their Rugby Team, he completed his PhD and later received his MBA from the Questrom School of Business at Boston University. He is presently Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Tufts Medical Centre and a Professor at Tufts University School of Medicine. His documented research into maternal-foetal medicine has been internationally recognised and he is a respected leader in the causes and prevention of pre-eclampsia and the prevention of pre-term labour. To date he is the author of 12 textbooks, 90 book chapters and more than 250 original research articles and reviews


Head Prefect of SACS in 1982, he received his Bachelor’s degree in business with first class honours at UCT in 1986. On a Rhodes Scholarship he read law at Keble College, graduating with first class honours. Trevor later completed an LLM at Columbia University and joined the corporate department of Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen and Katz where he was made a partner, focussing on mergers and acquisitions, corporate governance and securities law matters. Currently he teaches a course in mergers and acquisitions at Columbia, is a member of the American Law Institute and is active in the American Bar Association. Not forgetting his roots, he serves on the board of a number of non-profit organisations, the UCT Fund and the friends of the Mandela-Rhodes Foundation.



Professor David Aschman, it is with great pride that your Alma Mater, the South African College School, bestows upon you the SPECTEMUR AGENDO AWARD for your outstanding contribution to Nuclear Physics.

Born in Cape Town, you first attended SACS in Orange Street and then completed your schooling on the Montebello Campus in 1965. At school you lived a full life, playing sport, participating in societies, being awarded the Victoria Scholarship in Grade 11, attaining a First Class Matriculation pass and receiving the Biology, Physical Science and General Merit prizes. Despite showing a clear interest and talent for the sciences, you still managed to have numerous creative writings and poems accepted for publication in the annual magazine – a true all-rounder.

In 1969 you graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree at the University of Cape Town, completing a post-graduate Honours Degree in Physics the following year. Being awarded the Field Marshall Smuts Scholarship, you proceeded to Oxford to read for your Doctor of Philosophy, in Nuclear Physics.

You were a research associate and scientist at Princeton University. At Stanford University’s Linear Accelerator, you made a contribution to the ground-breaking experiments that have been made in creating, identifying and studying subatomic particles. In your travels amongst the elite scientists in your field, you have gleaned and shared scientific knowledge on Particle and Nuclear Physics with numerous other research centres in Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Germany, America and South Africa. You have presented and published in excess of 80 scientific papers and extracts.

Apart from your academic research, it was in the teaching and nurturing of the young scientists of the future that one of your real passions lay. Countless numbers of young men and women have reaped the benefits of your lessons over the years where your engaging, challenging and encouraging demeanour has set them on the path of scientific knowledge and discovery. As Professor of Physics for more than 30 years at UCT, thousands of students are indebted to you for your guidance and assistance, as undergraduate or post-graduate Masters and Doctoral students.

Professor Aschman, you are one of our country’s eminent scientists and academics. Your warm, caring, considerate and compassionate personality has earned you respect and endearment from all who have been fortunate to know you. You epitomise the man described by Rudyard Kipling as one who is ‘able to walk with Kings but never lose the common touch.’ Your wisdom and knowledge has seen you serve and advise on numerous university committees, as diverse as Library and Extra-Mural studies, to sitting on the University Council and Senate. Your outreach activities have seen you giving freely of your time and expertise to under-privileged scholars.

You are an excellent husband to Lynne and father to Gray and Ali and value the institution of family and friendship highly. Your friends talk about your love for a good espresso, of your oratory skills and of your being the ‘go-to man’ for any physics problem. Your modesty and humanness, despite your talent, has made you one of SACS’ outstanding sons. The South African College Schools are proud of you for what you have achieved in Science and life and bestow upon you the ‘SPECTEMUR AGENDO AWARD’ – “let us be judged by our deeds.”
SACS is with Tracy Koevort.17/10/2019 at 9:11pm
Neil Lategan (Deputy Head of Rosedale) and Duran Koevort (Head of Rosedale)
SACS17/10/2019 at 7:22am
Congratulations to the following water polo players who have been selected for various Western Province Water Polo Teams to compete in the upcoming Interprovincial Tournament:


Noah Bigara

Alexander Palframan

Jack Gee


Ryan Dawson

Aiden Casey

Thomas Wiltshire

Caleb Duffield


Andrew Good

James Davis

Ross van Breda

Matthew Hay


Josh Lane


Alexander Thomas

Nandor Desi

Oliver Hartley

Nicholas Solkow


Ben Hartley

Jordan Thomas

Sebastian Williams

Devon Laurenson

Brent van Niekerk

Liam Dawson


Philip de Nobrega
SACS16/10/2019 at 9:37am
Hamza Kana - Winner of Cape Town Mini-Tennis tournament. (Old WP)
SACS15/10/2019 at 2:07pm
Congratulations to the eleven SACS Cricketers on their selection for various different Western Province Teams. This is an incredible achievement and testimony to the extremely healthy state of cricket at SACS.
U19A Daniel Smith
U19B La'eeq Cooper
U17A Kaden Solomons, Anda Dilima, Kai Curran, Michael Levitt and Hlumani Msutu
U17B Oscar Welsh
U15A Liyema Waqu, Ben Levitt
U15B Oliver Whitehead
Thank you to Mr Willows and coaches for all their coaching and guidance.
SACS shared a post.13/10/2019 at 8:12pm
Well done to the SACS Indoor team.....silver medal at the PSI Schools Indoor Tournament
They lost on sudden death showdowns to Fairmont
Well done to the coaches(Pierre Le Roux and Anton van Loggerenberg) and the team
The boys played excellent hockey throughout the tournament
Thomas Brocklehurst was goalkeeper of the tournament