+27 (0)21 689 4164


The School Governing Body (SGB) is a statutory body of parents, educators, non-teaching staff and learners (from Grade 8 or higher) who seek to work together to promote the well-being and effectiveness of the school community and thereby enhance learning and teaching.

The SGB has a fiduciary (trust) relationship towards the school. The SGB’s role is to support the school administratively so that the educators may concentrate on their teaching.

The SGB essentially:

  • assists the school with matters of administration, finance, discipline of the learners, etc and
  • develops school polices aligned with the legal requirements of provincial and national policies.

Its work can be divided into six key functions:

  • Steering
  • Monitoring
  • Support
  • Executive
  • Accountability
  • Discipline


  • Kerrin Begg – Chairperson
  • Waheeda Parker
  • Kenneth Wyne
  • Peter Cowan
  • Afzal Khan
  • Allan Opperman
  • Duzi Ndlovu
  • Terence Collopy
  • Barry van Selm
  • Brendan Grant
  • Chris Jones
  • Candy Schumann (Secretary)
  • Debbie Gartshore